After Germany and Spain, the United Kingdom was the third country with the largest participation in the Horizon 2020 program. The BREXIT agreement threatened the continuity of the UK for researchers, and businesses. However, after negotiations, on 24th December 2020 the involvement in the new Horizon Europe program was secured, with the UK participating as an Associated County from the .

Opportunities under the Horizon Europe programme

Thanks to the Associated Country status, UK participants will have the same rights as EU participants. In other words, UK entities are eligible for funding at the same rates and under the same conditions. Entities including universities, research centres, innovative business, and industry. will have full rights to participate in the first calls for proposals of Horizon Europe as soon as they are published on the European Commission’s website. This is also true for calls which may be published before the adoption of the Horizon Europe Regulation, such as early COVID-19 calls.

The scope of association includes the European Research Council (ERC), the Marie Curie-Skłodowska Actions, the six ‘Global Challenges’ clusters and Missions, the partnerships, the European Institute of Innovation and Technology, etc.

The only exception is the EIC Fund part of the EIC Accelerator since the UK decided not to take part in financial instruments of the EU. This means UK entities can apply for grants under the Accelerator but they will not be eligible for loans or equity.